Whats Love got to do with it????

So today I listened to Tom Barret’s  Dare to Dream and I remember he asked: what’s love got to do with it?  

It got me thinking. Lots of time we say: ‘I don’t like my job’, ‘I don’t like this course’,  ‘I don’t like my salary its too small’, ‘I want to make more but I hate that im not that business oriented,  I hate figures’, ‘I have soo many dreams, hopes & aspirations’,  ‘I love my wife but things aren’t just working out between us’, ‘I would love to be a millionaire’,  ‘I would love to move my family from a flat to a duplex’, and the list goes on.

But the question is: what’s love got to do with it?  Answer: Nothing. You hate your job? I can assure you that its not the reason you don’t get promoted.  Look around you, you find others who do not also like the job  but are excelling at it.

You love your wife? Many people do but rarely talk to their wives these days. Love helps but its the work you put in that builds the relationship.

You love nice cars but can’t afford them? Get to work. You have to work harder than those who own nice cars. You don’t get things you love just because you love them,  you have to earn them.

You don’t like the course you are studying?  Either change courses or work harder than the best in your class. You don’t have to love a course to be the best graduating student, that award goes to those who held on throughout the semester,  who read when others were having fun.

When I am sick, I take drugs. And I can assure you “I hate drugs” but what I love isn’t going to make me better.

You have dreams you want to achieve? Then you have to work towards those dreams.  If you don’t work, they will always remain dreams.  Yes! Dreams

image

It’s even in the Bible: as a man sows, so shall he reap. Mind you, it didn’t say ‘as a man dreams, so shall it be’.

Thats why I repeat: Whats Love got to do with it?  And I answer again: Nothing.

.
.
.
.
Lots of love people! !!

Reference
What’s love got to do with it- Tina turner

13 thoughts on “Whats Love got to do with it????”

  1. love has nothing to do oo. i love to concur to dat bt if i didnt browse and comment on ur blogs d love wont do anything. ..so u see

    Like

  2. Nne, it’s soooooooo true. But will always maintain one thing. People are different. Some will excel wherever they are no matter their feeling for the job. Some will not excel unless they love the job. Some use love as an excuse and will not perform anywhere @alll. Know which one u belong to and be guided.

    Like

  3. On point. I recall reading an old comment by Tosin Otitoju, popular for the numerous national honors that she got early in life. She explained that she excelled nationally and internationally even though she did not particularly ‘like’ the subjects she was studying. She simply disciplined herself to get stuff done well without letting ‘love’ impair her effectiveness.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I get your point that we don’t always get what we love. I agree. But I think more happiness is released into our lives when we do more of the things we love, when we are with the people we love and when we are where we want to be. However, when we don’t have what we love, I think we either quit or find a reason to love what we have. Yes! It is not enough to dream and love things, we must work hard. But hard work is not much of work if it is fuelled by the passion love produces.

    Like

Leave a Reply

