She was here and still is

Screenshot_2014-06-15-08-20-46-1There’s this particular song that has been going on and on in my mind since I heard the news today

 

wanna leave my footprints on the sands  of time

Know there was something that, and something that I left behind

when I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets

,

Leave something to remember, so they won’t forget

I was here

I lived, I loved………….

And I must confess,  Chioma,  you left your footprint.  It doesn’t have to be concrete but it is those qualities that are hard to find: abundant love, resilience in the face of adversity and the ability to find something to smile about, to live for even in the darkest moments of our lives

.

Your life here although short is an inspiration,  a motivation and your standards something to aspire to.

I will miss your easy smiles, your unquenchable thirst for music, truthfulness(even if it hurts at the time), your avoidance of conflict (although it doesn’t mean you will allow yourself to be walked over), your carefree lackadaisical approach to life, your steadfastness in your beliefs without imposing them on others and your ability to be there for people when it really matters.

The last part of the song goes:

“I just want them to know

That I gave my all,   did my best

Brought  someone to happiness

Left t

his world a little better just because

I was here……

And Chioma, you were really here.

I just pray your mum can find consolation from the fact that you’re now free of pain. Also, that your siblings and dad can be comforted.

And we, your friends can take your advice in the lyrics of the song ‘I hope you dance’:

“That we will never take a single breath for granted,

Never settle for the path of least resistance

Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,…………………

You will forever remain in our hearts and every chubby cheeked baby will always be an absolute reminder.

R.I.P.

Adieu dear

 

 

Songs:

I was here………..    Beyoncé

I hope you dance………Lee Ann Womack

 

Dedicated to my friend & sister Okoyeugha Chioma who passed away on Saturday morning,  14/06/2014.

10 thoughts on “She was here and still is”

  1. I wasn’t really close to her back in school, but I knew her from a distance. She was one of the cool ones, laughed alot too. Rest in peace Chioma, and may God give your family and friends the fortitude to bear this loss.

    Like

  2. Rest ın peace Chıoma! I knew u as a quıet smart namesake. May God grant ur famıly d fortıtude to bear ur loss!

    Like

  3. A Rare Gem is gone!!!
    Chioma, a very quiet, selfless and intelligent lady, I remember those days in my ss2 @fggc osha,when U̶̲̥̅̊ used 2come visit Kene Ifedi,my dorm head then.,I always admired your quiet, gentle nd kind nature. Even though I knew you from afar, your good qualities were always glowing…I shed tears yesterday when I heard of your demise, I learnt you suffered a lot cos of ur ailment, but we take solace in the fact that you re now with the Almighty..May God give your family and friends the fortitude 2bear this huge loss..
    Jee nke oma Chioma
    Till we meet 2part no more
    You wil be greatly missed…

    Like

  4. There I was taking a selfie & putting it up as dp on BBM, & Ogochukwu Obi pings me & goes like ‘u dey there dey laugh, Chioma Okoyeugha is dead”… It didn’t seem right to me, how could she die? Wasn’t it just yesterday that we were all in FGGCO running down for morning assembly? Ok, maybe it wasn’t yesterday, maybe it wasn’t even last year but the point is I just couldn’t believe it. But then it’s true, it’s true dat the curtains have been drawn & the lights are out for Chioma, it’s true dat I didn’t and will never get to see ur wedding pictures on FGGCO groups on facebook. Goodnight Angel, it is well with ur soul.

    Like

  5. Chioma, I still can’t believe it, even when your your younger sister called, I knew something was wrong and at the same time Chidinma’s watsapp message dropped on my phone “Chioma’s burial is today”. My whole world started spinning around me. And then I asked God Why, Why does it have to be her after she has suffered so much, and I felt God saying, she carried her cross and followed me. God I pray unto you please don’t let her be elsewhere except your bosom where she will be in pain no more and where you will shower her with your Joy. Adieu Chioma rest in peace.
    To Chioma’s Mum, Dad and Siblings, although its not easy, to hear this word but take heart God knows the best

    Like

  6. I still lack words…I still can’t believe this…
    God help her family and we her friends to bear this great loss..RIP

    Like

  7. I wasn’t closed to her in school but was genuinely shocked and was so sad when someone put up her pix & wrote RIP,the first word I sent to the person was WTF!
    was so speechless that all I could type repeatedly was CRAZY!!
    made me give myself a reality check!……..
    I pray for divine strength to her family to be able to bear her loss

    Like

Leave a Reply

